Florida-Georgia incomple pass call explained: How controversial ruling dented Gators’ comeback hopes

14 hours ago 2

Florida and interim head coach Billy Gonzales put up more of a fight than some expected against rival Georgia on Saturday, leading for much of the fourth quarter, but the Bulldogs ultimately left Jacksonville with another one-score win.

The narrative might have been completely different if not for a controversial incompletion ruling on the Gators' final drive.

With two more downs to work with, DJ Lagway took a downfield shot to J. Michael Sturdivant in hopes of sparking a go-ahead drive. An open Sturdivant believed he made the catch after slipping, as did half of the fans at EverBank Stadium, but officials ruled Lagway's pass incomplete, and replay did not overturn the call.

Minutes later, Georgia's offense ran out the clock and locked up a 24-20 win.

Here's a look at Sturdivant's non-catch and how it might have prevented a Florida victory.

MORE: Why ESPN isn't working on YouTube TV

Florida-Georgia incompletion call, explained

Trailing by four with under four minutes remaining, Lagway had Sturdivant wide open on third down and believed he hit his receiver for about a 48-yard gain. Sturdivant had to come back toward the ball, slipped while doing so, and had to stretch out his arms to try to make the catch while falling to the ground.

Officials quickly ruled the pass incomplete, but replay showed it was a much more difficult call than it seemed in real time. Gators fans cheered, believing Sturdivant got his arms under the ball before it had a chance to hit the field, but replay did not find enough evidence to overturn the call.

What a catch from Sturdivant! pic.twitter.com/NfYYvb8tnJ

— LandonTengwall (@LandonTengwall) November 1, 2025

The question that needed to be answered was whether the ball initially bounced off the field and into Sturdivant's grasp or off Sturdivant's outstretched forearms. The ball clearly bounces off of something and up into the chest of Sturdivant, where he secures it, but replay didn't provide enough evidence one way or another. 

If it were ruled a completed catch on the field, it's entirely possible the call would have been upheld as a catch due to a lack of evidence. 

MORE: Latest YouTube TV and ESPN dispute updates

Lagway and the Gators faced fourth down after the controversial incompletion and could not convert, as the sophomore quarterback was nearly intercepted. Florida's offense never touched the ball again.

Saturday marked Florida's fifth consecutive loss to Georgia, and the defeat ensured the Gators will have to beat at least one of Ole Miss or Tennessee to be bowl-eligible this season.

Read Entire Article